Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0

Thread: Question on an outboard

Post Thanks / Like

Default Question on an outboard

Has any one replaced the water pump impeller in their outboard? I’m going to try to replace the water pump impeller in mine. It’s an ‘86 35hp Mercury outboard. I’ve studied the parts diagram on Mercury’s web site and the motor very close. I’m not a marine mechanic, but I’m an auto and heavy equipment mechanic, so I’m not new to repairing things. The parts diagram looks like the impeller is about where the lower unit bolts on to the mid section. It looks like removing the lower unit is pretty straight forward a few bolts and the torque fin, and it’s off. My question is, are the any surprises (balls, springs, anything that might fall out with out me knowing where it went) that I need to know before I start tearing in to it? I tried looking for a manual on it, on the biggerhammer site, but they didn’t have one for the 35hp so I’m using the 30/40hp manual and it is for a 10 year newer motor. I’m sure some things have changed over 10+ years.

may your livewells stay full, and your rods stay bent.

Kevin

Drift_Wood is offline Moderator TN Forum * Crappie.com Supporter
    Post Thanks / Like

http://www.themarinedoctor.com/cgi-bin/YaBB.pl

Hey man go to this website he got a video on replacing it check it out.

fiddlefarter is offline Moderator Crappie Cover Forum * Crappie.com Supporter
    Mt. Juliet, TN...Percy Priest Lake/Old Hickory Lake
    Post Thanks / Like

Easy, if you're a mechanic. Easy to just about anyone for that matter. Lower units haven't changed much in 50 years. And if anything falls out when you drop it down, don't put it back in, cause it don't belong.LOL All the parts are inside the housing.
    Ya ain't holdin' your mouth right.

Post Thanks / Like