Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0

Thread: Night Fishing for Slabs -- Region 7 Lakes

Post Thanks / Like

Default Night Fishing for Slabs -- Region 7 Lakes

I would like to know if there are any other slab-seekers out there,
    who ply the waters of lakes and reservoirs of Region 7 ( or vicinity )
    at night ? Type of lights used ? Depths ? Baits ? ..... and, results ?

I am brand new to the forum . I recently re-located to Central
    New York , from Virginia . I am originally from the Syracuse area,
    but haven' t been in the area for almost twenty years ..... so , I' m
    getting re-aquainted with the area, and all the great waters .
    I fish for almost all species , but I plan and target specific ones
    per outing . I can' t say enough about how great the area waters
    are for many species ! I seem to appreciate all this a lot more now at age 44 .
    By the way , I am a writer ( copywriter-freelance ) and I' m breaking-in to the outdoor / fishing writer' s market . Also , I' ll be
    getting my guide license soon , in case anyone has the need for one. My focus ( target species ) will include Crappie -- of course, and
    jumbo-panfish ....like bull ' gills , elephant perch, and 'great white' bass.
    I' ll be utilizing 10' to 14' sticks w/ 4 to 8 # lines , and employing
    traditional methods mixed with a few new tactics that I have developed over the years . I' ll be concentrating on ' skinny water ' ,
    night fishing , and ' electric - only ' waters . Such methods are under-
    utilized today. With the desires of many anglers -- their needs of
    " instant gratification", and the mindset of " faster - is - better " .... it is
    common for these impatient types to fail at rendering their quarry,
    and lay blame on any convenient factor.
    You' ve heard them all -- " It was too windy", or " too cold "....or,
    any of the dozens of other lame excuses. Fact is -- you live in New