Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0

Thread: Question from a newbie

Post Thanks / Like

Default Question from a newbie

I'm new to the forum and wanted to start by saying hello and ask a few questions. I am fairly new to fishing for crappie (used to go with the grands when I was a young boy), so I hope you all will be patient with me if I ask stupid questions.

Anyway my question is concerning putting out crappie cover (condos, etc.). I live close to a small lake with one creek running into it (other than the main river) and a few small coves. I was wandering where would be the best place to put the condos, how deep, and how many to string together, how far apart and so forth. I was considering around the creek ledges close to the main river channel and maybe a few of the coves.

The problem with this lake is that it receives a great deal of boating traffic from pleasure riding and water sports and if you try to fish around the main river channel in the summer, you will get run over.

Post Thanks / Like

Wellcome to crappie .com Hooked. There's folks more knowledgable then I am on answering your ? concerning where to put your attractors. So I'll leave it up to them. However just about lake I know of is getting churned up with the pleasure boaters and jet ski's. THe only answer I know of there is get out early and late in the summer. Lake goodness in a month or so the lakes will be the fishermen's again.

Beagler

Post Thanks / Like

Everyone says to go fishing early to beat the pleasure boaters. I was washed away by someone skiing at 7:30 this morning.

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by crappieseeker
    Everyone says to go fishing early to beat the pleasure boaters. I was washed away by someone skiing at 7:30 this morning.
    Welcome aboard. This is a great place, and there is a lot of good advice
    on here. Here's some maybe not-so-good advice for the skiers...
    Keep a flipping stick with hi-vis line and a Zara Spook or DD22 tied on