Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Wounded Warriors

Post Thanks / Like

Default Wounded Warriors

Hey fellas, I wanted to let you guys know about a program I'm involved with called Wounded Warriors. I work part-time as a hunting/fishing guide at a plantation near my house and I talked my boss into letting me take some wounded warriors on some free guided trips.

Wounded Warriors is a program for guides across the country to donate their time to take some of our ex-servicemembers who were wounded in battle on fishing and hunting trips.

First up for my day was some a group of guys who served in Iraq and Afghanistan over the past few years. They're all disabled veterans with varying degrees of injuries sustained while in combat. I took this group quail/chukar hunting this morning. Most had never quail hunted before and they enjoyed watching the dogs work and they shot surprisingly well after getting them warmed up on sporting clays. The guy on the right side of the picture that is looking straight at the camera has two artificial legs...

Next up was a little fishing for this guy named Chris. I'm normally a catfish guide but I found some largemouth bass staging for the spawn and I got him to pitch some lures their way...

I had a blast taking these guys out in the field and on the water and giving back to them. If you guys have the opportunity to get involved in the Wounded Warriors program, you won't be disappointed. Those guys will love it and you'll love doing it for them.
    Last edited by bcgamecock; 03-18-2009 at 07:14 PM.

Post Thanks / Like

Thanks for what you are doing for these guys. My brother is a wounded warrior himself. Lost both legs in Iraq, it means a lot to these guys to have these opportunities. Thanks Again.

Post Thanks / Like

It's about time to read a positive concerning some of the wounded soldiers. I'm sure they had a great time, that lake looks awesome.