Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: mercury out board carb work

Post Thanks / Like

Default mercury out board carb work

i have an 89' mercury 115hp inline 6 motor. when you first start it up it takes off and runs great. then it seem almost like it starts to flood out and bog down. if you stop sometimes it dies sometimes it just wont take off again. when you try to accelerate it just bogs down or dies,. if you shut it off and tilt the motor up the it looks like fuel just pours out of the middle carb. if you let it drain out and sit for a while and evaporate then it starts up and runs great again for a few minutes. a friend (auto mechanic) looked at it and said that the middle carb had a needle and seat stuck? for me to get a carb get and change them out and it should be fine. i have never done anything to a carb before. he said it was very simple. i was just wondering if any mechanic's out there thought that this sounded like the carb is my problem? does this sound like it might fix the problem? is this something , someone with very little carb experience can do? any help would be greatly appreciated. thanks in advance. bigfish5

Post Thanks / Like

What he is telling you could be it. It also could be the float in the carb could be stuck to causing that one carb to flood. If it was me and I was going to take that one carb off I would take all three off and at least clean them good. That way when I went back with them I would know that they didn't have trash in them. We do boat work at my dads and we do alot of carb work. Thats my opinion on it and if you have never done one I would get sumone who knows about them to help you if ur going to do it yourself.

Barnacle Bill is offline Super Mod and 2014 Crappie.com Man of the Year * Crappie.com Supporter
    Post Thanks / Like