PDA

View Full Version : Questions on Eyeglass Options

slabbandit
02-26-2009, 09:43 PM
I am probably fixing to get some prescription eyeglasses pretty soon. Can't hardly see what my my cork is doing on a long cast. I don't know what options I should really look at getting. Don't wan't to spend money for something that I don't really need.:confused:
I'm really undecided about "transitions" lens most of all. I don't have a problem with getting apair of "Cocoon" over the glasses polorized sunglasses as I will probably choose a small frame glasses. I want no-line progressive bi-focals because I have trouble tying jigs and hooks.
Any comments are appreciated.

Thanks,
Dave

deathb4disco
02-26-2009, 09:48 PM
I am probably fixing to get some prescription eyeglasses pretty soon.

Have you ruled out contacts? I've been wearing 'em for almost thirty years --much more comfortable than glasses, IMO.

This is something you really need to discuss with your eye doctor, though.

treedawg20
02-26-2009, 09:53 PM
I have the transitions in bifocals and dont really like them.You get a few drops of water on them and then dry them off and can see the drops for a few mins..Tommy

luvjign
02-26-2009, 10:03 PM
A topic I'm interested in. I'm farsighted (can't see objects close up), and it's getting worse quickly. I'm up to a 2.25 reader lens and holding, but it's getting bad quickly, to the point I can't see 14' rod tips real good anymore. This makes me think nearsightedness is coming into the picture. My question is, does anybody here wear bi-focal contact lenses? My optometrist told me a couple of years ago that it was an option, but one of his nurse helpers descretely told me I would never get used to them. Just curious?

Cane Pole
02-26-2009, 10:23 PM
I wore trifocals for years. I now wear progressive and I highly recommend them. Been wearing progressives 15 years. I have the titanium frames. Very light. I could not adjust to wearing contacts.