Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0

Thread: Hardy and Deam's Lake

Post Thanks / Like

Default Hardy and Deam's Lake

Has Hardy lake been over fished? I plan on heading up there as soon as the ice thaws. My neighbors seem to thing that both Hardy and Deam have been abused for too long. I just bought my fist 14' boat and plan on hitting the smaller lakes this year. I'm new to fishing so any advice about the lakes in the southern half of the state would be appreciated. I'm from New Albany.

Post Thanks / Like

Deam lake has good crappie pop. u just have to find them, Patoka lake to me best lake for numbers and size in indiana, never been to hardy lake

Post Thanks / Like

I agree with Ken about Patoka being the best, it just takes alot time finding your own honey holes there because its so big. I have caught some nice crappie at Deams, but don't fish there very often. I am heading to Hardy the last weekend of March for the first time, so I'll let you know how it goes!

Post Thanks / Like

Never fished Deam's but I fish Hardy quite often, (live 3 miles away) This year should be good for crappie and bluegill on Hardy. The crappie are starting to get some good size and the bluegill and redear have been good the last several years (at least for me) I fish patoka a lot also and at least the last couple of years have caught mostly small fish, however last year was catching them around 8 and 9 inches so this year should be a good year. I think Patoka is probably the best and I hear a lot of good size fish are caught there but I don't know the lake that well and usually only fish a couple of areas. Hardy was also stocked with stripers and wipers a few years ago and I saw a couple last year that were pushing 15 pounds or better.
    Mike Perry

Post Thanks / Like

How's the muskie fishing at Hardy ??
    14 foot boat. I don't think I'd take it out on bigger lakes. You'll feel like a bobber all day long bouncing up and down.