Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0

Thread: Question on rigging a night light to attach to battery

Post Thanks / Like

Default Question on rigging a night light to attach to battery

I read In the night stalking article that he uses clamp on lights with the regular wall plug in and adjusts it to have the clamps to attach onto a battery. My main question is: Is there an adapter that fits this job or am I going to have to do some wiring ( which i'm not good at) Trying to get my boat rigged up just running into a few probs. Thanks for any help

Post Thanks / Like

Default clamp on lights

All you need to do to convert "wall plug lamp" into "alligator clamps 12volt" is attach the alligator clamps and use a 12volt bulb.

To attach the clamps first nip off the wall plug. Then split the 2 wires and strip about a 1/2 inch of the ends of both of them. Attach the positive and negative alligator clamps by crimping the exposed wire into the clamps with some pliers. Then wrap electrical tape to secure in place if you feel necessary.

Then all you need is the right bulb. You want a 12 volt incandescent. I had to get mine at the local hardware store because Wal-Mart did not carry them. (I guess that was my local business good deed for the day). But any 12 volt bulb will work.

Hope this helps,

~Fishin' Magician~

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by Tube4Slabs
    I read In the night stalking article that he uses clamp on lights with the regular wall plug in and adjusts it to have the clamps to attach onto a battery. My main question is: Is there an adapter that fits this job or am I going to have to do some wiring ( which i'm not good at) Trying to get my boat rigged up just running into a few probs. Thanks for any help