PDA

View Full Version : Server busy message



Shellback
08-18-2004, 03:32 PM
Anybody else been getting the server busy message? Just started with me yesterday. Is it crappie.com or the server on my end. Thanks, Ron

labill
08-18-2004, 03:35 PM
Anybody else been getting the server busy message? Just started with me yesterday. Is it crappie.com or the server on my end. Thanks, Ron

I've been getting that message too, occaisionally. I don't know if it's crappie.com's server, but it wasn't because the site was congested, there were only 3 members on the boards and a few guests.

rango
08-18-2004, 03:46 PM
ive been gettin it about half the time i try to sign on. just started recently

Jerry Blake
08-18-2004, 03:51 PM
I get that message quite often too. It appears to be coming from the server that hosts this forum, which must have some other very busy sites on it.

Slab
08-18-2004, 03:53 PM
There have been some slowdowns during maintenance cycles on the Crappie.com server that I'm looking into.

I'm always logged on, so I don't need to log on. You may want to check how you're accessing the site, but if you're having to log on each time, you might have a link to the previous location of the site in your "favorites" that you should replace with the new location on Crappie.com. That way your cookies can leave you logged on.

Bob G
08-18-2004, 04:04 PM
There have been some slowdowns during maintenance cycles on the Crappie.com server that I'm looking into.

I'm always logged on, so I don't need to log on. You may want to check how you're accessing the site, but if you're having to log on each time, you might have a link to the previous location of the site in your "favorites" that you should replace with the new location on Crappie.com. That way your cookies can leave you logged on.


I too am logged on when ever I access the site and I have been getting the busy signal about half the time. It started on monday and has been getting worse.
Don't know if it helps to know this? but, I thought I would throw in my 2 cents. Thanks Great site!!

Jerry Blake
08-18-2004, 04:17 PM
There have been some slowdowns during maintenance cycles on the Crappie.com server that I'm looking into.

I'm always logged on, so I don't need to log on. You may want to check how you're accessing the site, but if you're having to log on each time, you might have a link to the previous location of the site in your "favorites" that you should replace with the new location on Crappie.com. That way your cookies can leave you logged on.

I get the "Server Busy" message while navigating about the site when I'm already logged on. Usually after a few attempts or after waiting a few minutes I am able to continue so it hasn't been a major problem - just one of those little annoyances that one encounters in cyberspace every now and then.

I've gotten it in the middle of the night and very early in the morning, which makes me think it probably is a maintenance issue and not a bandwidth issue.

Slab
08-18-2004, 04:25 PM
OK, I changed some performance options in the Vb program so that it is similar to the setting I use on one of the other message boards. I resolved some perfrormance problems on the other site a while back, and they are on the same server and not complaining. Don't get me wrong, I do want to hear from you when the system is slow.

This is a stop gap. There may still be the maintenance issue which does occur at the times Jerry mentioned. I see the issue, I jsut can't figure out how to stop it from happening. It's a monitor thats sucking up CPU cycles going through logs. Sounds easy, stop the monitor, or shrink the logs, but I got to find them first! Wish me luck.

Shellback
08-19-2004, 09:05 AM
Haven't had anymore problems since I put the post up. I guess you got it Ed! Thanks for the great board.

Moose1am
08-19-2004, 09:33 AM
It's happening to me also. Started on Tuesday and continued for me on Wed.

Ed I hope you can track it down and quash that problem. Good luck.





OK, I changed some performance options in the Vb program so that it is similar to the setting I use on one of the other message boards. I resolved some perfrormance problems on the other site a while back, and they are on the same server and not complaining. Don't get me wrong, I do want to hear from you when the system is slow.

This is a stop gap. There may still be the maintenance issue which does occur at the times Jerry mentioned. I see the issue, I jsut can't figure out how to stop it from happening. It's a monitor thats sucking up CPU cycles going through logs. Sounds easy, stop the monitor, or shrink the logs, but I got to find them first! Wish me luck.

Slab
08-19-2004, 09:48 AM
Moose, let me know if the problem has gone away since Wed about 4PM. I did some tuning of the application at that time, and at least Shellback is saying he's not getting the problem anymore. Thanks all.

Bob G
08-19-2004, 10:06 AM
Moose, let me know if the problem has gone away since Wed about 4PM. I did some tuning of the application at that time, and at least Shellback is saying he's not getting the problem anymore. Thanks all.
Ed, the problem has ceased for me also. Thanks again for the work that you do. ;)

rango
08-19-2004, 10:41 AM
I havent had the problem recently either.. thanks

Jerry Blake
08-19-2004, 02:44 PM
No more "Server Busy" messages here either. Keep up the good work, Ed!

labill
08-19-2004, 02:47 PM
No "busy" messages here, Ed.......thanks