Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: need help getting started trolling...spider rig style

Post Thanks / Like

Default need help getting started trolling...spider rig style

I am planning on giving spider rig trolling a shot. I live in Indiana a 3 rod per person limit applies. The lake I fish is normally stained to clear but can be muddy in the spring.

I have looked at T-Bars and I think I am going to go with Driftmaster.

Rods, I have looked at BNM and ProAngler. I have no idea what length to buy for trolling any help would be greatly appreciated.

I was thinking about buying the BNM Black Widow. They are fairly inexpensive and my thinking is since I am new at this if I break one or lose one I don't have as much invested in the rod.

What size line do you use to spider rig?

Thanks for any and all input

rnvinc is offline Crappie.com 2016 Man of the Year * Member Sponsor
    Post Thanks / Like

For spider rigging....you will want long enough rods to get your baits out in front of the TM...I use 12 foot..any shorter than that and I have trouble keeping them out of the TM

I use 10 foot out to the sides or out the back..
    www.podunkideas.com <--Click here
    ------------—————
    https://www.crappie-gills-n-more.com/
    https://cornfieldfishinggear.com/

------------------------>> Pro Staff Sonar Advisor

rnvinc is offline Crappie.com 2016 Man of the Year * Member Sponsor
    Post Thanks / Like

Oh yeah.. I first started spider rigging with telescoping fiberglass 'bargain bin' rods and they worked just as good as my walley marshalls now...they just weren't as pretty....lol
    www.podunkideas.com <--Click here
    ------------—————
    https://www.crappie-gills-n-more.com/
    https://cornfieldfishinggear.com/

------------------------>> Pro Staff Sonar Advisor

Post Thanks / Like