Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0

Thread: Equipment recommendations needed

Post Thanks / Like

Default Equipment recommendations needed

Hello,
    I am new to serious crappie and bream fishing and need to get some good tackle. I have several ultralite outfits so I don't need those but need something for vertical fishing. I have a $150 to spend. Help me select my tackle. Everything from a good pole, reel, jigs, hooks, weights, corks....the hold thing.

Speaking of poles and reels. Do most serious fishermen put reels on their poles or just tie the line to the tip? Also, what length pole is best?

Thanks for taking time to reply and help me spend my money.

Charlie

Post Thanks / Like

CCM, you'll open up the flood gates with replys to this one. You can use the search field above and find a lot of information on pole selection, reel selection and line selection.

I myself use 10ft Crappie Wizard Rods (now carried under B&M) and use Mitchell avocet spinning reels. You could get several outfits for 150.00.

Post Thanks / Like

B&M poles are all you need to get a good start and a cheap reel to hold line PVC as I dunk mine in the water and pvc or plastic don't rust. vertical jigging is all I do as for jigs bass pro is abo;ut as good as it gets rocket rich

Post Thanks / Like

one other thing I like to use Hi Vis gold line as I can see it much better than mono and don't let anyone tell you the fish will see it. I'm a shallow water 3-9 foot guy and put a lot of PVC attracter in which work after a year or so.

Scrapper is offline Crappie Wall Hanger II - Moderator Mechanics forum
    Post Thanks / Like