Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: hooks??????

Post Thanks / Like

Smile hooks??????

I just wanted to know the differences in hook metereial. I going to order some hooks to make jigs with and just wanted to know the pros and cons of bronze, gold, and red hooks.Thanks for any info.
    paddle faster i think i hear banjo music !!!!!

Post Thanks / Like

Default hooks

Im no expert but heres my take.
    Bronze rusts to easy, sometime cheaper quality hooks

Gold usually cheaper softer hooks, Ive seen some really nice gold hooks that were supposed to be vmc but never could find the same hooks, probably custom. Does protect against corosion.

Red wears off really fast.

Black Nickle most durable, usually on higher quality hooks, very rust resistant.

From previous threads the one jig hooks id be interested in trying would be Matzuo sickle black nickle hooks(supposed to be very sharp), Mustad 9146 black nickle supposed to be very strong and chem sharpened.

I had a bunch of gamakatsu octopus hooks (favorite catfish hook) i use for catfishing and started using them in the ocean about 2 years ago.. The red hooks after one outing are all scratched up and make you not want to use them and that was with catching no fish. The blacks never rusted up on me and always looked great and sharp.
    Last edited by robbor; 11-30-2008 at 07:21 PM.
    "Some days im Basstastic other days im crapptacular"

Post Thanks / Like

Robbor is right about the red hooks as it's not the metal but a coating. I use Mr. Crappie hooks in either red or gold (whichever is in stock I have no preference). I think Tru-Turn makes them. They are not real sharp out of the package but I can sharpen them with a honing stone and they are good to go.

PB Wht. Crappie 2.48 lbs 02-12-2011

Post Thanks / Like