Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: crapie

Post Thanks / Like

Default crapie

i am new to crappie fishing this year, but im being told its to warm for crappie now. is it ? if not where & when and what techniques. i live in south central middle tenn, iwould appreciate all input on this matter. thanks

Post Thanks / Like

Which lakes in Tennessee are you gonna be fishing? Get out in the main channels out away from points with deeper cover for them to suspend over. Bridge pilings are another good place this time of year and deep water docks are also usually good.

Post Thanks / Like

Deep water is relative but if the lake is fairly shallow then deep water can be just 10ft deep or deeper. If your lake is really shallow then look for shady spots. If the lake is over 20ft deep then you should be able to find the fish suspended out in what is called "CONFINED OPEN WATER". Close to the shallow water but out over deeper water. A deep point would be a good example of this. Also if there is a creek or river channel running though the flatland type reseviour then search for the channel breaks and find big turns in the channel and fish the outside edge of the bend and then the inside tongue areas. If your lake has a thermocline then find out where that is located and fish the depths right above the thermocline. Use your depth sounder to find brush along the edge of the channels and or to see the suspended fish or bait fish.

I read that the bigger crappie will hang right below the schools of threadfin shad and be out in the deeper water.

Remember the top ten feet of water is hot but below the 10ft to 20ft levels the water is relatively cold. So the fish will seek their comfort zone and will stay in areas that have a good temp and plenty of Dissolved Oxygen. Check the windward deep sloping points.