Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Do batteries need to be recharged everytime ?

Post Thanks / Like

Default Do batteries need to be recharged everytime ?

Just purchase a used boat, just wondering if the 3 batteries need to be charged after each used ? or they charge themselves when the boat is running.
    Thanks for all the help. This is my 1st boat and i'm new at this.

Barnacle Bill is offline Super Mod and 2014 Crappie.com Man of the Year * Crappie.com Supporter
    Post Thanks / Like

Trolling motor batteries should be recharged as soon as possible after use. They will last much longer if you do that. The starting battery may need to be charged once in a while if you only run the big motor for short periods of time. First step is to determine how the batteries are being used. Usually with 3, one is used for starting and 2 for the trolling motor. Normally the motor just charges the starting battery. Check and be sure the motor is charging. A simple voltage check with the motor off and then compare it with the motor running. You should see a slight increase in voltage at about 1500 rpm. Of course you water to have water hooked up to it if not in the water. So tell us, what did you get?
    Fair Winds and Following Seas

Bill H. PTC USN Ret
    Chesapeake, Va

Post Thanks / Like

I recharge my trolling battery about every 3 times out unless theres hi winds.got battery alarm on my front finder set so it gos off when its 2/3 down.Its a good reminder-Good Fishin To Ya & Welcome Aboard!!Dennis
    Good Fishin To Ya!! Dennis Dale Hollow Crappie www.dalehollowcrappie.4t.com

Post Thanks / Like