Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0

Thread: (Yet another) line question

alaseswer Guest

Default (Yet another) line question

Hello everyone. I am newbie, so forgive me if this is a question already discussed elsewhere.

I've been out several times this spring and have had some success on 4# test monofilament line.

However, because of the dropping price point and the benefits, I'd like to try a superline, like Berkley Fireline

I'm doing vertical fishing mostly in reservoirs.

What strength Fireline do you recommend? I bought a spool of 6# (2# mono diam), but am thinking about exchanging it for 8# or 10#. Would there be any obvious advantage to stepping up in strength. I'm new to crappie fishing, and am still figuring out this line strength stuff.

Also, I've heard that it's helpful to start my spool with a monofilament backing and then add the fireline. How do I do that? How much mono (and what thickness) before tying on the fireline? And which knot to use?

Finally, any thoughts on green vs. pink vs. smoke?

Thanks in advance!

Post Thanks / Like

i have done very little veritcal fishing. However, I have fished on several occasions and noticed a difference in the number of fish caught; the only difference being 4lb test vs 6 or 8. Same color jig; same dock; same day; same color line; the only difference was the size of the line. I would be very careful in going too big with the line.

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by alaseswer
    Hello everyone. I am newbie, so forgive me if this is a question already discussed elsewhere.

I've been out several times this spring and have had some success on 4# test monofilament line.

However, because of the dropping price point and the benefits, I'd like to try a superline, like Berkley Fireline