Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0

Thread: New structure! How long before fish get on it?

Post Thanks / Like

Default New structure! How long before fish get on it?

Well let me start off by saying this is my first time putting structure in the lake for crappie. I know some of you guys say old christmas trees aren't the way to go, but I have caught a many of crappie around them. I picked up 7 trees in my neighborhood back the first of January. I thinned them out to where only the many limbs were left and let them sit in the backyard until all the needles fell off. I set them in 5 gallon buckets full of quickcrete. I also added some large limbs from a tree that had been cut down. The structures looked very good. Well I went out and put them in the lake yesterday in about 11 feet of water. The lake I put them in is a very shallow lake. The deepest spot is around 14 feet. This is not my primary fishing lake but our crappie club finals are going to be held there in the middle of July. I put the structures out where I have caught fish before, as a matter of fact, I fished close to where I put them yesterday and caught a few. The water was muddy but will clear up by July. How long does it take for added structure to have fish on it?
    B&M Pro Staff
    Driftmaster Pro Staff
    TEAM BAIT PUMP
    MAGNOLIA CRAPPIE CLUB

Post Thanks / Like

Slab-I"ve had fish on my bamboo condos as quick as 5 days,waited till then to check em,might have moved in before?Been catchin fish off 3 of them real regular.Good Fishin To Ya!!Dennis
    Good Fishin To Ya!! Dennis Dale Hollow Crappie www.dalehollowcrappie.4t.com

Post Thanks / Like

How do you find out if its legal to put man made structures into a lake? I would think someone might get mad at us droping off our home made stuff to help us catch fish...lol.....I am not againts it. I just do not want to get into any trouble if I decide to give it a try.

Post Thanks / Like