Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Crappy jig confusion!

Post Thanks / Like

Red face Crappy jig confusion!

I'm new at this Crappy fishihg.
    I keep asking folks what they use.
    The weather just chilled a bit so the first Crappy are being caught.
    I'm sure they eat everyday, all winter and all summer long.:p So what's the jig you guys use to start off with when you get to the water?:o

One guy will tell me you only use a Green jig in the winter.
    Another tells me nothing but 'Bass Assison' on a bare lead jig head.
    yet another is saying hook the litter rubber faker by his lips. & through his back, & back through the tail.....
    and one more tells me White jig head with a Red ring around his eye, and white chenelle is all you'll ever need.

OK, what's going on?
    Do the Crappy just bite anything when they are in the mood?
    Does color, Rubber thingy's or Eyeballs have anything to do with catching them?
    Somebody come on with the wisdom of the ages, and maybe I can bring home a mess for my wife's deep fish fry Pot.
    I just wish I could be better at fishing. Or maybe luckier!:D

Post Thanks / Like

Thud,
    They are all right. I fish up and down Kentucky Lake and what works in one bay won't work in another. After a day of fishing, I will have two handfulls of jigs I've tried throughout the day until I find the one that works. Now, if your fishing day in and day out, you can kind of pattern them to what color and style they want. But when a weather change or water level or water clarity change occurs, it's back to square one. I've even had them change color right in the middle of a good bite because it got cloudy!