Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0

Thread: Newbie/Rookie from Bama

Post Thanks / Like

Default Newbie/Rookie from Bama

Well I have been stalking around the forum for a couple of years and descided to add my .02 every once and a while, along with asking some questions.

I live about 10 min from Lake Jordan, 20 min from Lake Martin, and 15 Min from the Coosa River so I figure hey, why not try fishing. Let me explain, I like to catch fish, I don't have the patience to sit in the boat all day, LOL. My passion is Turkey hunting and Waterfowl hunting. I have a friend that started taking me crappie fishing last year after turkey season and to say the least I am hooked. I know little to nothing, but I do come home with a cooler full of fish, We fish at night underlights and during the day. My wife says its just another way to keep me from cutting the grass.

Anyway I also have what you say is a mentor, my restaurant managers brother has fished Lake Jordan every day for 47 years and man does he know the tricks. My son and I went with them Saturday and I learned more in 6 hours than the last year of playing around. Mr. Gus doesn't need a gps his mind is his gps. What jig to use, spoon, line, how to present it, it was awsome. I watched him reel in crappie after crappie. Then I descided to just watch. When the jig hit the water count to seven and then close the bail, count to 10 after that and then slow reel with a twitch. All I had to do was watch and listen and we had fish in the cooler. It was a blast. Mr. Gus or Papa John would say your realing too fast, slow down. Change now to small spoon and bounce it on the bottom. My son kept saying, "They have a scuba diver down there" LOL it was funny, but when we got it down pat we were hanging with them.

I look forward to learning some tricks and sharing some stories with ya'll.