Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Pulling Crank Baits

Post Thanks / Like

Default Pulling Crank Baits

What color, size and type of crank baits do you folks use when pullling. Live in Illinois and this type of crappie fishing is not well known. Any help will be appreciated.

Post Thanks / Like

Default Pulling Crankbaits

Bill..I'm fairly new at this concept also, but have a good friend that trolls this way during the summer. I use the Bandit series 200 & 300 models. The 200 runs 6-8 ft deep and the 300 approx 10-12 ft deep. I use the solid white but our lake water stays pretty clear in the summer so I haven't tried any other colors. This isn't much info, but hope it helps you at least get started. Good luck.

Post Thanks / Like

We do this all the time on my home lake here in Ky. We use a wide variety of crankbaits and you will be surprised how large a bait a crappie will actually hit. We mostly use 200 series Bandits in a several colors....shades of chartruese/shad patterns/and a few other bright colors. We also use smaller cranks, like those you would use in a small creek or stream, with GREAT success. The same colors as the Bandits applies here as well. Smaller size wally divers are also a good choice. Just experiment with the bass baits that you have and I am sure you will find something that will fit the bill...I hope this helps.....Good Fishin' GrouseFly

Post Thanks / Like

Default Line Length and diameter effects depth of the crank baits

I purchased a Shakespear line measuring device that helps me determine just how much line I have out behind the boat. Also the line diameter makes a difference. Smaller diameter line will make the crank baits dive deeper.

Trolling speed of the boat will effect the depth.