Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Boat max horsepower rating???

Post Thanks / Like

Default Boat max horsepower rating???

I have a 2002 Tracker PT175. On the tag inside the boat it says the max horsepower rating is 75 horsepower. I have noticed several similarly built boats like the Express that jhef has posted a pic of and others that have up to 150 horsepower motors on them. Why is it that my boat is rated at a 75 max? What determines this rating? What happens if I do put a bigger motor on it? I know when I bought the boat a 90 HP or larger motor was a pretty big heavy motor, and I assumed that had something to do with the rating. Now I see larger HPs that are as small as the 40 I have. Sorry for my ignorance. I am far from an expert on outboards. I know just enough to get myself on the lake and catch fish. Past that, the thing hanging off the back of the boat may as well be a nuclear reactor.I fish tournaments and I am severely underpowered when compared to most everyone else out there. A new boat is really not in the cards right now, and I am going to look into trading up to a higher HP motor, even if it is an older one than I have. Just wanting to know how far I can go. Any help or advice would be great.
    Bob's Jigs Prostaff
    www.bobsjigs.com

Barnacle Bill is offline Super Mod and 2014 Crappie.com Man of the Year * Crappie.com Supporter
    Post Thanks / Like