Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Windy Boat Control

Post Thanks / Like

Default Windy Boat Control

It seems this spring has strong winds every day. I have a 16-ft. Deep-V boat and the wind makes it hard to keep straight while also keeping it going slow at a controlled depth, even into the wind because it blows from several directions. I'm just learning to troll and wonder if a couple buckets or driftsock would help? I can get the nose going foward and then the rear almost goes sideways. Thanks for any suggestions.

Post Thanks / Like

I have a similar sized boat, 17' deep v. I had the same problem until I started using buckets. I like to tie one bucket on the line that has about 10 1/4" holes drilled in the bottom. Then if that doesn't work, I put another bucket on that has no holes and try it. This will usually stop the boat from dog-tracking (back end sideways).
    Caught so many fish today my thumb is sore from clicking the counter.

Post Thanks / Like

What size of buckets? 5 gallon?
    I have problem with wind in my jon. I anchor from the bow and the boat swings around in the wind.
    Thanks,
    Mary

Post Thanks / Like

most use 5 gal., but you could throw another anchor off the stern.
    smiles are contagious, spread them around
    Proud Member of the ZIPPER Club
    & Team Geezer

Cane Pole is offline Crappie.com 2011 Man of the Year * Crappie.com Supporter
    Post Thanks / Like

I would exercise caution when anchoring a Jon boat in high winds from the stern. Good way to swamp/sink your boat. Don't tightline your anchors if you use them.

Experience speaking here.

Tom
    Member BS Pro-Staff and Billbob Pro-Staff
    Proud Member of Team Geezer... authorized by: billbob and "G"

Post Thanks / Like

Tom,