PDA

View Full Version : Windy Boat Control

Nightprowler
05-20-2008, 05:29 AM
It seems this spring has strong winds every day. I have a 16-ft. Deep-V boat and the wind makes it hard to keep straight while also keeping it going slow at a controlled depth, even into the wind because it blows from several directions. I'm just learning to troll and wonder if a couple buckets or driftsock would help? I can get the nose going foward and then the rear almost goes sideways. Thanks for any suggestions.

PapermouthLegend
05-20-2008, 07:56 AM
I have a similar sized boat, 17' deep v. I had the same problem until I started using buckets. I like to tie one bucket on the line that has about 10 1/4" holes drilled in the bottom. Then if that doesn't work, I put another bucket on that has no holes and try it. This will usually stop the boat from dog-tracking (back end sideways).

bluegillfisher
05-20-2008, 09:15 AM
What size of buckets? 5 gallon?
I have problem with wind in my jon. I anchor from the bow and the boat swings around in the wind.
Thanks,
Mary

wannabe fisherman
05-20-2008, 09:20 AM
most use 5 gal., but you could throw another anchor off the stern.

Cane Pole
05-20-2008, 09:29 AM
I would exercise caution when anchoring a Jon boat in high winds from the stern. Good way to swamp/sink your boat. Don't tightline your anchors if you use them.

Experience speaking here.:(

Tom

bluegillfisher
05-20-2008, 09:40 AM
Tom,
Is that warning only for people fishing in a current? I haven't dropped an anchor from the stern because that's what I've read, but I see a lot of guys at the lake I fish from anchoring from the back. I know I need to learn more on boat control, I took coast guard class long time ago, but now I am doing most of my learning on the internet.
Thanks,
Mary

PapermouthLegend
05-20-2008, 11:36 AM
I use 5 gallon buckets on the stern, but I agree with cane pole. You better watch it on very windy days or you can swamp a boat pretty fast pulling buckets.

skeetbum