Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0

Thread: I Have a Theory...

Post Thanks / Like

Default I Have a Theory...

I've heard the debate before about white light vs green light. I know some swear by white, some by green, and some swear it doesn't matter. Now I'm new to night fishing, but here's my theory: white lights (because most white lights are halogen, or some other form of hotter-burning light) work better in the winter because the fish are attracted to the light AND the heat, whereas green lights (or any form of LED lights) work better in the Summer because they burn cooler and don't put out any more heat than is necessary.

Please don't turn this into "_____ is better all the time. Period." We've all heard that before. But if your experience can either support or refute the above theory about lights/heat in Winter vs Summer, please chime in. If you use one color (more importantly, one bulb TYPE) year-round and it produces better certain times of the year (or just as well year-round) -- this is what I want to hear about. If you've used both; even better.
    Last edited by DC Crappie Kid; 04-24-2008 at 03:36 PM.
    Jeremiah 16:16a "But now I will send for many fishermen," declares the Lord, "and they will catch them."

Post Thanks / Like

Default White light and green light

DC Crappie kid i can only add my opinion on the summer night fishing theory.
    I have my best luck using white light on the surface and green light submerged. Now I cannot say anything about the winter gig because I don't fish in the winter around my area. I don't really care for the cold winters in ohio any more.

Post Thanks / Like

I dont know that this OPINION I am about to give is correct or not, just a thought.