Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Mark Twain Crappie

mfraser Guest

Default Mark Twain Crappie

Hey guys, newbie here. Got a question, I'm from Central Illinois about 1 1/2 hours away from Mark Twain Lake. I've always heard this lake was the bomb for crappie. Any thought? Any tips or suggestions for this time of year? Any help would be appreciated. Thanks in advance

Post Thanks / Like

I can't help you a bit on Twain but welcome to the Mo board.
    For a full line of fluid beds
    soft plastic, jig heads and more see us at

www.simplycrappie.com

http://stores.ebay.com/Simply-Crappie

Post Thanks / Like

haven`t fished twain yet this spring, but usually the creeks like shell and sandy warm up first.

Post Thanks / Like

i forgot to welcome you to the board, WELCOME

Post Thanks / Like

mfraser, welcome to the board, sorry I can't help on M Twain.
    Mark

Pitching jigs, catching slabs, life is good

Post Thanks / Like

I like to fish lick creek early. It seems to warm up quick because it is a little shallower thansome other areas. You may want to start toward the mouth and work your way back. Try to find the edge of the channel and fish right on that edge, even if there is no brush/trees showing. They will follow this edge, especially if it is a several feet drop. I think it may honestly be too early to start thinking about them moving shallow. If you fish this weekend, you will probably have your best luck around deep water close to creek channels or at areas around the mouths of large creeks. Good luck whatever you do.

Post Thanks / Like