PDA

View Full Version : Hey Crappiepappy



Tube4Slabs
04-04-2005, 05:38 PM
What option do you use to make the picture by your name come up on post. I know that the picture probaly has to be 100PixBy100pix. Just wondering where you went to enter the image address. Appreciate any info

labill
04-04-2005, 06:12 PM
What option do you use to make the picture by your name come up on post. I know that the picture probaly has to be 100PixBy100pix. Just wondering where you went to enter the image address. Appreciate any info


Hello tube.....cp must be out of pocket for a while, but if you look above your post, you will see a black bar with "User cp" on the left end. Ckick there and you will see "edit avatar" and when you select it you will see what you need to post your avatar. If I'm not mistaken, you will also see the pixel size that you cannot exceed.

Mrs. Crappie Stalker
04-04-2005, 06:44 PM
I was wondering about this too. I tried the "edit avatar" option, but it won't let me do anything. The "Do Not Use an Avatar" option is selected and it won't let me change it. Any ideas? :confused:

whiplash
04-04-2005, 07:09 PM
I was wondering about this too. I tried the "edit avatar" option, but it won't let me do anything. The "Do Not Use an Avatar" option is selected and it won't let me change it. Any ideas? :confused:
me too

labill
04-04-2005, 09:34 PM
There is a member on the LA board that has the same problem. My advise would be to contact Ed at slab@crappie.com and see what he can do to change it. Sorry I can't be of more help.

Crapbie
04-04-2005, 09:37 PM
I think you have to go to edit profile picture and upload the pic there then maybe go to the thing ed did. I have not done it but just had a look and looks right.

The link he said has no address option so you must have to upload it somewhere else I think. Someone try the "edit profile picture" link in the cp section and let us know.

CrappiePappy
04-04-2005, 10:56 PM
Tube4slabs ....... I went into "user cp" - then clicked on "edit avatar" - then clicked the "use custom avatar" circle (which removes the "do not use avatar" choice) - then clicked on "browse" button (next to the "upload" blank) ...... that automatically brings up my computer's "my documents" window, which is where I have my pics stored. I click on the pic I want, and the file name of that pic comes up in the "file name" blank ... then I click on the "down" button at the end of that blank (the upsidedown black triangle) and choose "pictures gif jpg" - then click the "open" button ... that brings the picture file into the "upload an avatar from your computer" blank - then I click "save changes" and a picture appears in the top left corner of the Edit Avatar box (right under the words - Your Current Avatar) ......... then all my posts start showing up with the pic as an Avatar.

But - NOTE - I joined "Photobucket" and scanned and downloaded my pics on there ... previous attempts at getting them to post, as a Avatar or Profile Picture, failed --- too big (too many pixels)....so I downloaded a freeware program called Easy Thumbnails. I used it to downsize my pic to the 80x80 pixel size of the avatar requirements. It did a pretty good job - I don't think the quality of the picture is hurt any, by the size reduction. Here's the picture in "normal" size .........http://i2.photobucket.com/albums/y42/crappiepappy/minnowsworkonWattsBartoo.jpg
My pictures on Photobucket's site, are all "normal size" .... those same pics were put into my "My Documents" folder, on my computer - so now I have them in two places. The Easy Thumbnail program was used to make the pics in my "documents" folder - all thumbnail size!! So now, if I want to post a thumbnail pic or change my Avatar ... I go to "My Documents" .... and if I want to post a full (normal) sized pic, I can open Photobucket and post them from there (using the "postcard" icon just above the text window area - that I'm typing in now).

Is that confusing enough for ya'll ?? :D ... Seriously though - I just fumbled thru it, until I got it to work. I think I told you everything I did to get an Avatar picture ....... try it and see, and if you still have trouble - let us know ... surely someone else can guide you thru the process better than I can ....LOL!! .......luck2ya ............cp :cool:

EZ1
04-05-2005, 05:07 AM
I think that most of us do not have the "Edit Avatar" function available. Looking at the ones that have them and the ones that don't, I think it may have something to do with your number of post. When you reach a certain # maybe you get to have an avatar. Crappiepappy and Labill both have a higher # of post than those of us that cannot load an avatar.
I don't really know if this is correct because I am nearly computer illiterate, but I did stay at a Holiday Inn Express once. :D

DENNIS BOWERS
04-05-2005, 05:22 AM
Nope-i Just Tried It,it Wouldnt Do Anything When I Pushed The Edit Button.maybe Ez1 Is Right? Good Fishin To Ya!!dennis

Tube4Slabs
04-05-2005, 10:31 AM
I agree too, must be # of post or something. When I click on the button it wont disappear either.

CrappiePappy
04-05-2005, 12:33 PM
when you guys are clicking on "user cp" --- that brings up your editing page ... right? Then you click on 'edit avatar" in the column of choices to your left - that brings up the Edit Avatar window. There should be one small rectangle window over a larger rectangle window - the top one should have a circle with a dot in it, and says "do not use an avatar". You CANNOT click on this and make it go away !! You have to click on the empty circle in the larger rectangle below. Once you put a "dot" in it (by clicking on it) the other dot in the circle above should go away. Once you have the dot in the lower circle ........... then you hit the "browse" button, and that should take you to whatever folder or file you have your thumbnail picture in. But, remember - you have to have the picture in 80x80 pixel thumbnail size (or slightly smaller) downloaded IN A WEBSITE ONLINE (like Photobucket) - BEFORE you "browse" for it or try to enter any information in the "URL" or "UPLOAD" blanks !! If the picture is bigger than that - it won't load as an avatar. It has to already be 80x80 pixels or smaller in size (mine is 80x79) and available on the web, before you can link it to this site as an avatar. At least, that's the way I understand it. ..............cp

scrap
04-05-2005, 05:36 PM
when you guys are clicking on "user cp" --- that brings up your editing page ... right? Then you click on 'edit avatar" in the column of choices to your left - that brings up the Edit Avatar window. There should be one small rectangle window over a larger rectangle window - the top one should have a circle with a dot in it, and says "do not use an avatar". You CANNOT click on this and make it go away !! You have to click on the empty circle in the larger rectangle below. Once you put a "dot" in it (by clicking on it) the other dot in the circle above should go away. Once you have the dot in the lower circle ........... then you hit the "browse" button, and that should take you to whatever folder or file you have your thumbnail picture in. But, remember - you have to have the picture in 80x80 pixel thumbnail size (or slightly smaller) downloaded IN A WEBSITE ONLINE (like Photobucket) - BEFORE you "browse" for it or try to enter any information in the "URL" or "UPLOAD" blanks !! If the picture is bigger than that - it won't load as an avatar. It has to already be 80x80 pixels or smaller in size (mine is 80x79) and available on the web, before you can link it to this site as an avatar. At least, that's the way I understand it. ..............cp

I understand what you are sayin' Pappy but, we don't have the option to click on the empty circle. The empty circle does not show on our screen. I have set up avatars on other sites. The set up you speak of is exactly right. But for some reason we do not have the option of clicking on the empty circle. The only thing that shows is the circle that already has a dot inside of it and we can't make that darn dot go away. I believe we need someone with say 50 - 100 - 200 posts that do not have an avatar yet to let us know if the empty circle is available to them. Then we can narrow this thing down to IF there is a certain number of posts needed to be able to have an avatar.

Lets do a science project :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :D

labill
04-05-2005, 06:25 PM
I understand what you are sayin' Pappy but, we don't have the option to click on the empty circle. The empty circle does not show on our screen. I have set up avatars on other sites. The set up you speak of is exactly right. But for some reason we do not have the option of clicking on the empty circle. The only thing that shows is the circle that already has a dot inside of it and we can't make that darn dot go away. I believe we need someone with say 50 - 100 - 200 posts that do not have an avatar yet to let us know if the empty circle is available to them. Then we can narrow this thing down to IF there is a certain number of posts needed to be able to have an avatar.

Lets do a science project :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :D

Scrap.....I don't think it is like that. The reason I think so is because I always had the options to post avatars and profile pictures from the first day on the site. It's been only recently I've developed an interest to post photos. (Got a new Digital camera :D ) I'll see what I can find out about what is going on with the options you guys and gals don't have. I would be surprised if it turned out to be a seniority thing. Doesn't sound like Ed, but I will check it out.

scrap
04-05-2005, 06:32 PM
Thanks Bill - Avatars are fun

deputyking
04-06-2005, 07:00 AM
I followed crappiepappy's direction even to downloading the free software. Everything is ready except I can not post an avatar. Ed, please help.

scrap
04-06-2005, 11:12 PM
ttt

Moose1am
04-07-2005, 03:10 AM
Those dots in the circles are called "RADIO BUTTONS" as Microsoft invented them for Windows. That is what I always called them after reading the Microsoft Windows 3.1 manual. LOL

Any of you all remember the old 1950 car radios? You chose a station by pushing in a radio button. Only one button could be pushed in at one time. I guess that is where they got the idea to call them "Radio Buttons"


when you guys are clicking on "user cp" --- that brings up your editing page ... right? Then you click on 'edit avatar" in the column of choices to your left - that brings up the Edit Avatar window. There should be one small rectangle window over a larger rectangle window - the top one should have a circle with a dot in it, and says "do not use an avatar". You CANNOT click on this and make it go away !! You have to click on the empty circle in the larger rectangle below. Once you put a "dot" in it (by clicking on it) the other dot in the circle above should go away. Once you have the dot in the lower circle ........... then you hit the "browse" button, and that should take you to whatever folder or file you have your thumbnail picture in. But, remember - you have to have the picture in 80x80 pixel thumbnail size (or slightly smaller) downloaded IN A WEBSITE ONLINE (like Photobucket) - BEFORE you "browse" for it or try to enter any information in the "URL" or "UPLOAD" blanks !! If the picture is bigger than that - it won't load as an avatar. It has to already be 80x80 pixels or smaller in size (mine is 80x79) and available on the web, before you can link it to this site as an avatar. At least, that's the way I understand it. ..............cp

scrap
04-10-2005, 10:20 AM
ttt - want to keep this towards the top so it doesn't get forgotten.