Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Panama City bay fishing.

Post Thanks / Like

Default Panama City bay fishing.

I was considering taking my boat down to Panama City and try fishing in the bays during the first week of April. Does anyone have any good suggestions of where to fish? Would I be better off trying this over chartering a fishing trip?

Post Thanks / Like

If ya havent heard, charter fishing down here is getting a might expensive. Just passed new regs about red snapper (2 per person) and it has hurt the charter fishing boats. That along with the gas prices and its expensive to charter a boat. I've always heard mexico beach is good fishing. I'm no expert on PC, I'm from P'cola. If it was me, I'd bring my boat and give it a try.

Post Thanks / Like

2 per person? What was it before? I've been charter fishing in Destin and brought home many snapper. How's the bay fishing in Destin? I've always wanted to take my boat there to fish. I'm not even going to try and spell the name of that bay.

Post Thanks / Like

If I remember right, in Louisiana it went from 5 to 4 to 2 and if I heard right this year it will go to 1! Not worth going out there for 1!
    Dwyane
    The only place where success comes before work is in the dictionary!

SMILE- A curve that can set a lot of things straight!

Post Thanks / Like

A charter really isn't worth it unless you are going after multiple kinds of fish,

AJ, Snapper, etc.

I have spear fished panama city, gulf shores, destin etc.

There is a sizable snapper population around the wrecks at Panama City, but they tend to be undersized. Amberjack and Grouper are a similar story. I just don't think that Panama City is the fishery it once was.

Personally, for bottom fishing and spear fishing my luck has been alot better out of Orange Beach.

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by mister sacalait View Post