Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Opinions needed

Post Thanks / Like

Default Opinions needed

Maybe I am too close minded. After all I am 60 years of age and set in my way and all that. Here is what is rubbing me the wrong way. I belong to another site where they are arguing about the state having to do more so people can catch fish.

They want shorter seasons , lower bag limits , slot lengths whatever they all have magic cures they think will enable them to catch more fish or some fish whatever the case may be.

I have been listening to this for over 50 years. I can honestly say I do not think the state is the problem. It is the lack of knowledge in the inividual fisherman. I am under the impression even if the whole state went to mandatory catch and release these guys still would not be able to catch fish.

One lake I grew up on was nicknamed the " dead sea " by disgruntled local anglers. Yet I caught fish mostly walleye and crappie consistently out of it. Another local lake I owned and operated a bait shop. Guys would look at pictures and ask these walleyes come from Lake Erie. I would tell them nope this lake. When the state used to pull their test nets in the spring to milk the eggs from the walleye. I would send these doubters to watch. They all came back amazed not only at the number but at the size.

I live in Ohio and while I would not rate it as the greatest fishing state. It certainly is a good one. How do you all feel about it ?
    Garminarmin gpsmap 1040 xs networked with Garmin gpsmap 1242 xsv , Panoptix PS 30 and PS 31. Livescope LVS 32

Ice rig Echomap Ultra 106SV with LVS 12 and GT10-IF

Post Thanks / Like

Good question Hays47 and welcome.

People these days just need something to moan about or there not happy.