Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Carolina rig for crappie

Post Thanks / Like

Default Carolina rig for crappie

has anyone ever tried a mini carolina rig for crappie? i was just thinking if you had a small weight and a tube jig that floated of the bottom that it night be easier ti fish? when the fish were holding close to the bottom? i just thought i would ask some of the crappie experts.

Post Thanks / Like

I'm no expert, but I don't think so. Though crappie will rarely feed down so you'll have to be right at the depth they're at, which is why either the counting down or marked line/rod methods work so good. And then you have the problem of getting the jig/tube/lure to float. Just my .02.

Post Thanks / Like

If you want to try it, I'd suggest using a small finesse weight, a Carolina keeper and a Northland Gumdrop floating jighead tipped with a minnow.

These finesse weights are skinny and don't snag as bad as some do. http://www.basspro.com/webapp/wcs/st...=SearchResults

The Carolina keeper is nice because you can change the length of your leader easily by squeezing it with a pair of pliers and then just slide it wherever you want it. http://www.basspro.com/webapp/wcs/st...L&cmid=PP_P1_2

These jigheads are great. Northland also makes some that are round if you prefer that style. http://www.basspro.com/webapp/wcs/st...=SearchResults
    Hey...jerk...your bobber's under!!!

CrappiePappy is online now Super Moderator - 2013 Man Of The Year * Crappie.com Supporter
    Post Thanks / Like

Wink You might try ....

But, bare in mind a few things :

While there are many different floating jigheads ... colors, hook size, body size, price ranges ... NONE of them float with the hook point "UP" (as shown in this image). The jighead actually floats "upside down".