Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Fall rate

Post Thanks / Like

Question Fall rate

This is a subject that I've seen little discussion about.

Jig fall rate.

I'm pretty new to this crappie stuff (couple years) and most of my jig fishing has been for larger fish and perch. I don't believe the fall rate is as important
    with those fish as with crappie. Maybe perch through the ice.

For me to set and wait 15, 20 or even 30 seconds for a jig to get down 10 to 20 feet seems like a eternity. If a jig is that light, how can you tell where it's at in any kind of current?

I guess the rule of thumb in most cases is about a foot as second. Am I wrong to assume this is correct for crappie?
    Most people on here fish with jigs smaller then 1/8th ounce from what I've read.

I know there is no set in stone rule. But whats your take on the correct fall rate?
    Mike

CrappiePappy is offline Super Moderator - 2013 Man Of The Year * Crappie.com Supporter
    Post Thanks / Like

Wink Well, Mike ....

Quote Originally Posted by FisherMike
    This is a subject that I've seen little discussion about.
    Jig fall rate.
    I'm pretty new to this crappie stuff (couple years) and most of my jig fishing has been for larger fish and perch. I don't believe the fall rate is as important
    with those fish as with crappie. Maybe perch through the ice.
    For me to set and wait 15, 20 or even 30 seconds for a jig to get down 10 to 20 feet seems like a eternity. If a jig is that light, how can you tell where it's at in any kind of current?
    I guess the rule of thumb in most cases is about a foot as second. Am I wrong to assume this is correct for crappie?
    Most people on here fish with jigs smaller then 1/8th ounce from what I've read.
    I know there is no set in stone rule. But whats your take on the correct fall rate?