Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0

Thread: 8' casting rod opinions...

Post Thanks / Like

Default 8' casting rod opinions...

...I have 7 footers and like them very much, but I want two longer casting rods. I want something with light to medium weight and a fast action, a little backbone. Money is no object:D

OK, I got $100 a peice to spend. I know with the length it is going to take at least that amount to get the right feel. It seems as though the market opens up for me at that price, as I have no experience with rods of that price... But I deserve at least two

I prefer stainless eyes... just my preference. Of course I will be pairing the rod with a Mitchell 308 or 310... so spinnig rod

Thanks guys
    This only my opinion, but nothing you can say will change my mind. That makes it a FACT.

Today is a Blessed Day and a Prosperous Day

Post Thanks / Like

pfleuger microspin 8ft 23$ us i have the rod in 6'6 and 7 and love it they make an 8 and 10 and they are very light and fairly rigid

Post Thanks / Like

Bass Pro's float 'n' fly rod is 8.5' -- nice rod, $40.

For a step up, I would look at a light steelhead rod. I have a great 8.5' rod from Cabela's. It's in their Fish Eagle II series and goes for $80. I think either their light (rated for 6-10# line) or their medium (rated for 8-12# line) would work for you. I have the medium one. I use it to toss spinners for trout and soft plastics for bass -- works great. Depending on what you'll be using it for, the light model might work better for you.

Neither the BP or the Cabela's rod has stainless guides, though.

St. Croix also has some steelhead rods for around $100.

Post Thanks / Like