Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Fuel efficiency

Post Thanks / Like

Default Fuel efficiency

I've been running 2 strokes for years and my 1997 Yamaha 115 is a really thirsty motor. I'd guess that I get about 3 - 3 1/2 miles per gallon tops. I've heard from several of my buddies that their four strokes are getting 6 to 7 mpg. Do you all know if there is much difference between the four strokes in terms of efficiency? I've also heard that the Evinrude Etek does as well or better than most four stokes. Anybody know what's best?
    Jim - Have boat - will travel.

Post Thanks / Like

Everyone that I have talked to loves their 4stroke. They are heavier and more expensive but they are more quiet and more effecient. I met a guy on the lake a couple of weeks ago and he had his running and I couldn't even hear the thing. What's interesting is that I was right beside it.

My next one will be 4 stroke if I have the extra mulla!

The Hound

Post Thanks / Like

Default super 2 strokes

I have a 115 tohatsu and I am in my 4th tank of gas (16 gall) for over 35 hours use including 4 days at ky lake skiing. these injected 2 strokes (tohat, etec, optimax, etc) are very fuel efficient, plus have the weight and power advangtage over the 4 stroke, also less maintenance issues.

my 2 cents
    rco

Post Thanks / Like

My 4 stroke 60hp Merc is the best motor I've had in more than 40 years of fishing.

Easy to start, no oil to mess with and quiet. The fuel mileage is great compared to 2 stroke. I don't know about the etec, it's probably as good as they claim, but I won't have another 2 stroke.

Post Thanks / Like