Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Propeller Pitch ?

Post Thanks / Like

Question Propeller Pitch ?

Trashed my Prob,.Best I can tell my ol'prob- was a 10" dia X 15 degree pitch. (40 H.P. yamaha),Question is, if I went with a 10" x 13 would that give me less pulling power,But more top speed? Also have any of used the composite prob's? If so I'd like tyo hear the pro's & con's 0f it. Thanks.,,,,,

Post Thanks / Like

No. I believe it is up gives you less pulling power but more speed. My boat has a 17degree pitch, if I go to 19 I get more speed but less pulling power.
    I was told I can't go to 19 because I'm only running 5,500RPM's at full throttle. I'm not an expert on pitches and props, that's just what I was told by the service guy.

Post Thanks / Like

If you change the pitch you will have the possibility of over-revving your motor if you change to a lower pitch. It's always best to have a tach to tweak for the best preforming prop. If you go to a higher pitch you might gain top speed but that's only if your outboard will turn it at a substantial rpm. You usually lose about 200 rpm going up one pitch and gain 200 rpm going down in pitch.

Barnacle Bill is offline Super Mod and 2014 Crappie.com Man of the Year * Crappie.com Supporter
    Post Thanks / Like

You want a prop that will allow you to run the recommended WOT (wide open throttle) for your motor. Here is an excellent article on props: http://boatfix.com/how/props.html
    Composite props are good for a spare only.
    Fair Winds and Following Seas

Bill H. PTC USN Ret
    Chesapeake, Va

Post Thanks / Like

My 90 came with a 19 pitch I bent it cause it was aluminum and on Old Hickory.I was turning almost 6000 rpms I went to a stainless 24 both was 3 blade.It is slow coming out of the hole but it still turns in at 5500 but only speed of 43mph.
    http://s94.photobucket.com/albums/l114/luckyshorses/?start=0[/url]
    Hook em and bring em in the boat.