Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0

Thread: New to Crappie Fishing

Post Thanks / Like

Default New to Crappie Fishing

I have bass fished all my life but have rarely crappie fished even though I live very close to some good crappie lakes. My kids are getting to the age where they too enjoy the outdoors and i was looking for a style of fishing they would appeal to there short attention spans better than bass fishing. Anyway i have decide to start crappie fishing. What I was hoping to learn today from you veterans is this:

If you had to go buy 3 poles/rods/reels for crappie fishing to get you by all year what would you suggest to someone getting into the sport?

Lengths, 2 piece or telescoping, action, etc.

Most fishing i will be doing is at area lakes, some big some small, some brushy some with little cover except for man made.

Please Help

Post Thanks / Like

Welcome aboard from Louisville KY

I'm no expert on rods and reels, but for dock or pier fishing I use light action rods and reels 5' to 6' I also use them in boat for bobber fishing along with 6' to 7' rods. For jigging I use a little longer pole up to 10'. Some use 10' up to 16' for spider rigging and slo trolling. I'm sure that some others will help you with choosing the type of rods and reels you need.

PS your profile says that you're from Arkansas. There are some VERY good fishermen there, some of them crappie guides.
    Last edited by wannabe fisherman; 01-22-2008 at 02:02 PM.
    smiles are contagious, spread them around
    Proud Member of the ZIPPER Club
    & Team Geezer

Post Thanks / Like

welcome from Mississippi .

Post Thanks / Like

Welcome aboard, we're glad you're here. Good luck in your quest but be careful, you will become addicted.

Post Thanks / Like