Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Questions about Power Painting Jig Heads

Post Thanks / Like

Default Questions about Power Painting Jig Heads

I bought some unpainted jig heads at a fishing expo yesterday and will be ordering some power paint through Cabelas in a few days. I've never done this before, but spent a lot of time this afternoon researching it on the web. I wanted everyone's opinion on my plan for painting the jigs.

1. Dip the unpainted jig heads in vinegar & let dry to improve adhesion of the paint.

2. Build a couple of small racks to hang the jigs on. One to go in the oven, a second to hang the jigs on to cool after coating.

3. Heat jigs to 300F in toaster oven.

4. "Loosen" powder paint and swipe jigs through the paint, making sure to keep the paint loose between jigs.

5. Allow jigs to cool and clean hook eyes.

6. "Bake" paint onto jigs in toaster oven again for duarability.

I am not going to worry about putting eyes on the jigs at this time, but may take it up a bit later. The jigs that I have now are 1/4 oz that I will be using in Canada on windy days fishing for Walleye.

Any suggestions/reccomendations/etc. will be appreciated.

Thanks,
    Jeff
    Skeeter Jeff
    Indianapolis, IN

shipahoy41 is offline Crappie.com Legend - 2022 Crappie.com Man of the Year * Crappie.com Supporter
    Post Thanks / Like

3. Heat jigs to 300F in toaster oven. ( or use a pencil torch if just a few)

4. "Loosen" powder paint and swipe jigs through the paint, making sure to keep the paint loose between jigs. (Paint should be loosened before you start the process)

5. Allow jigs to cool and clean hook eyes. (Clean the eyes before the paint hardens)

6. "Bake" paint onto jigs in toaster oven again for duarability.
    Aquatic Species Removal Engineer.
    May God be with you. Keep CALM and STAY ANCHORED with your faith.

Post Thanks / Like

Thanks Ship!!

Jeff
    Skeeter Jeff
    Indianapolis, IN