Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: home-made spider rig

Post Thanks / Like

Default home-made spider rig

being a poor college student i was curious if anyone among the crappie.com family has made their own spider rig. I would be interested to hear any of your ideas. thanks

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by jigsbydirk
    being a poor college student i was curious if anyone among the crappie.com family has made their own spider rig. I would be interested to hear any of your ideas. thanks
    Well here is a technique that started it all - PULLING.

Before I had a bass boat, I had the 14 foot john boat with a 9hp that we pretty much all started off with I guess. I had a Minn Kota and battery that I bought at WalMart, a humminbird depth finder for 99 bucks and 6 metal clamp on rod holders from a local bait shop at about 3 bucks apiece.

I would raise the gas motor so as to have no rudder, screw that trolling motor on the side in the middle of the boat behind my seat so that it would pull the boat sideways down the lake. I had one rod holder shooting off the front and one shooting the other way off the back and 4 along the rail spread out straight in front of me. I used regular spinning rods, baitcasting rods or whatever crap I had lying around, tied on two or three tube jigs a couple of feet apart and tipped them with minnows.

Stagger the depth of your baits between 6 feet and 18 feet and start pulling them around the lake and see what happens!!! Growing up fishing Tunica Cutoff in MS, I knew where the mats and stumps were, but because of water fluctuations I couldn't always find them, so I would just use that depth finder and make a pass staying in 20 feet of water, then 18 feet , then 16 , etc. until I caught a fish. Then repeat, repeat and repeat.

I swear I can still catch more fish doing that than I can with all this money burning stuff I have now.