Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Keeping Minnows Alive??

Post Thanks / Like

Default Keeping Minnows Alive??

Thinking about getting up real early Sunday Morning and being on the lake at daybreak. I'm a newbie so I was wondering if I got some minnows late Saturday is there a way to keep them "kickin" overnight so they would be OK to fish with early Sunday morning. Not sure if they would make it for an extended period of time without being in aerated water.

tom

Post Thanks / Like

Hmmm, I would think that if you could get them in a good amount of water, they would do okay. WALMART has a cheap aerator for think 5-6 bucks for small aquariums, you may wanna think about using something like that. I just recently made a tank out of a 55gl plastic drum. I bought an aerator from WALMART for 10 bucks, for 20-60 gal aquariums. Put 1lb of minnows in it last week, and have yet to see a "floater"

Barnacle Bill is offline Super Mod and 2014 Crappie.com Man of the Year * Crappie.com Supporter
    Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by TomC
    Thinking about getting up real early Sunday Morning and being on the lake at daybreak. I'm a newbie so I was wondering if I got some minnows late Saturday is there a way to keep them "kickin" overnight so they would be OK to fish with early Sunday morning. Not sure if they would make it for an extended period of time without being in aerated water.

tom
    As long as you keep them cool, they will keep for a long time. I've got some right outside my garage door right now that have been there for about 3 weeks. Styrofoam works best. On hot days I throw a frozen plastic bottle of water in there to keep the temp down.
    Fair Winds and Following Seas

Bill H. PTC USN Ret
    Chesapeake, Va

Post Thanks / Like

I use one of those cheap little aquarium aerators from Wallyworld, too. I've got a bucket full of minnows on the carport left over from last week and they're all still swimmin.