Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0

Thread: tips on vertical jigging

Post Thanks / Like

Default tips on vertical jigging

How about some tips from you vertical jigging guys. 1 jig/1 pole.

Finding the depth/presentation/equipment/boat control/finding a pattern/anything that helps.

I have been mostly a "troller" or as canepole would say "floating trotline". I have have been landlocked lately due to motor problems. Been fishing out of a friends boat and off boat docks with jigging pole and no minners. Having fun! Need more info

Post Thanks / Like

Even though it's 1 jig 1 pole, I actually use 2 (one in each hand). I've been doing it like this for a few years and gotten used to it. I start off easing down into brush, stop at the top (when I bump something) and let it sit and then jig a little, then go down into the brush and repeat, and then I try to go thru the brush. Fish the outside of it real good all the way around. If they aren't in brush, I watch the depth finder closely and try to find the baitfish and then work 1 foot above them. The presentation varies and I have to re-establish it from day to day. Jig about 6in and let it ease back down. They almost always bite on the fall or sitting dead still, don't overwork it! It's like using a grunt call on a buck, too much will turn them away. Sometimes it's just a slight bump up and others it's just a little slide from side to side in the water. I never tie up and always use the trolling motor on low unless the wind's up. Patterns change from day to day, so whatever you try, remember it and try different things. You can use this later that day and on your next trips to the water. It would take a book to get you completely going on this, but hopefully you can get a start from this and other responses. Hope this helps.

Skipper
    Catch and Release: Catch the slabs and Release the little'uns

Post Thanks / Like

[QUOTE=crappiecrazy