Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: hi im new with a question

Post Thanks / Like

Default hi im new with a question

hello my name is Paul and i am new to the world of crappie fishing (catching them on purpose anyway) and i was wondering is it still possible to catch crappie on this date in northwest indiana? i know they are ice fished, but is it realistic to go fishing tomorrow or a day or so from now? i got fishing fever and i need to know if it would be practical. thank you all and i plan on being an active memeber in this forum.

PS if it would be okay to fish tomorrow, what sort of bait or lure should i use? i have all sorts of things so just say what i should use and i probably have it! thanks again,

Paul

Post Thanks / Like

one more estion, what size hook is good to use for crappie? big? small? if this is located anywhere on the site please direct me to it, thank you.

Post Thanks / Like

Welcome aboard Paul. We're glad you're here. Make yourself at home. As far as your question is concerned, I would say go for it. I'm down in MS so I think that they can be caught 12 months out of the year. I don't know what your water temp. is but I would say you might find them deep hanging tight to structure. I'd use a 1/32 oz. jig and present it to them real slow. I'm not sure about your water clarity but I think a red/chart tube or hair jig will work almost anywhere. I wish I could be more help to you. Good luck and again welcome to the best crappie site in the world.

Post Thanks / Like

hey thanks for the reply, water clarity up here is really not good at all, i hear stories about everyone saying that they can see the fish and that sorta thing, but i cannot even close to see maybe 3 inches down. how do i know how big the jig is? i know they come in sizes but is that a big size or a small one? i have all sizes, just dont know how to classify them. thanks again.

Post Thanks / Like

From Toledo Bend Texas!