Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Home made Jigs vs Store bought Jigs??

Post Thanks / Like

Default Home made Jigs vs Store bought Jigs??

I'm new to crappie fishing and I'm trying to get my tackle built up. I see that a few members make their own jigs. Are Home made better then Store jigs?? Do they catch more fish?

Who has the best Home made Jigs??:D

Thanks.

Post Thanks / Like

If you tie you're own, you can make them exactly how you like them: the hook size/shape you like, the jig head you like, etc. And it's cheaper than buying them!

Learn to tie your own jigs. It's incredibly easy.

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by CrappieCHAMP
    I'm new to crappie fishing and I'm trying to get my tackle built up. I see that a few members make their own jigs. Are Home made better then Store jigs?? Do they catch more fish?

Thanks.
    Yes! I would say my jigs will hold up so much better than store bought it's not even close. I have caught over 100 crappie on the same jig before losing it to a snag.

I would go so far as to say I don't think a better jig can be bought than mine. Also I can make it custom color combos that you c an even buy at a store.

Look at my web site and I am sure you will see what I mean. If I can help let me know.

Skip

Peak Vise Dealer
    Tying Materials, Chenille and Hackle
    For Pictures of my Crystal, Nylon/Rayon or
    New Age Chenille Please PM Me! Also I
    have the Saltwater Neck Hackle and some
    colors of Marabou plus other things!

Post Thanks / Like

Home made jigs are better, lot of people on here tie jigs to sell, Ebay also has quite a few

Post Thanks / Like

The biggest problem with store bought jigs (besides the poor quality) is the overall lure/hook size. The store jig makers increase the hook size and body size each time they increase the head weight.