Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0

Thread: Lake Houston Crappie...Help Needed

algonzo Guest

Question Lake Houston Crappie...Help Needed

Some of you guys may know me from other forums, but this is my first post on crappie.com. I've been reading and learning from this site for a long time, and figured "Where else to get the best crappie advise than Crappie.com?"

I'm extremely new to fishing, and ain't afraid to say that I know nothing about it, but I am very willing to learn. I've been trying to learn everything I can about fishing in the last year, but unfortunately haven't had many outings, or much luck when I did go out. I have a 6 year old son that loves to fish, but unfortunately I haven't been able to take him on a succesful fishing trip yet. I would love to see the day my son reels in his first crappie or bass after a long fight on some ultralight tackle. He likes to run jugs with my, but honestly, that isn't much fun for a kid. He is a fisherman at heart and want's to put on a good fight. I own a 14' Jon boat with a small 6HP and trolling motor, and my brother owns an old 73 15' Silverline; both with depth finders. This weekend we managed come to an agreement with the wives, and scored a monthly fishing pass. WUUUHUUUU.... :D So now we have the boats, the permission, a little bit of tackle, and the desire to catch crappie, but we lack the knowledge and know how to bring home some dinner. I live right down the road from Lake Houston, and have been very interested in jugline fishing, and crappie fishing and plan to master both. OK I'll be happy if atleast catch one fish... which I haven't been able to do yet.

My goal this season is to learn a little more about crappie fishing, and was wondering:

What are some good areas to work on Lake Houston to try and pull a few slabs?

What color lures are most effective on Lake Houston?