Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0

Thread: Line on reels

Post Thanks / Like

Default Line on reels

Any of you (that's probably a stupid ? - i'm guessing most of you do) reline your own reels. I've never done it on my own before, but saw a little rig at BP and Cabelas for like $25 to strip and reline the reel -

Is it easy/hard - another way to do it that's better?

I mostly used closed-face reels - just titeline and cast around our docks

Post Thanks / Like

Tie the line to a battery powered drill with a piece of wood in the chuck. Run the drill in reverse. Becareful not to run the rod tip into the drill when the line finishes. When putting the line back on make sure the line comes off the line spool the same way the reel spool turns. I use a loop to attach the line to the reel.

Post Thanks / Like

Good idea with the drill! I have never thought of that way.

Post Thanks / Like

CLick on this link and you'll find some good info from a previous thread.
    http://www.crappie.com/gr8vb3/showth...ighlight=label
    Hey...jerk...your bobber's under!!!

CrappiePappy is offline Super Moderator - 2013 Man Of The Year * Crappie.com Supporter
    Post Thanks / Like

Exclamation Wannago ....

Quote Originally Posted by wannagofishin
    Any of you (that's probably a stupid ? - i'm guessing most of you do) reline your own reels. I've never done it on my own before, but saw a little rig at BP and Cabelas for like $25 to strip and reline the reel -
    I re-line all my own reels, without any mechanical devices. I just pull off the old line, drop it in a plastic bag (to take it to a recycle bin, later), then add the new line. It's less than a 5min job, per reel.

For closed face reels ... I'd do it the same as for spinning reels :