Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0

Thread: question about rods

Post Thanks / Like

Default question about rods

I'm somewhat new to crappie fishing and I thought you used light and ultra-light rods and reels for crappie.But on these forums I see where most people use long rods up to 12ft.I guess my question is should I scrap my ultras.And why not use plain old cane poles if you are going to use such long poles.Hope I dont sound too ignorant.
    Thanks

Post Thanks / Like

Don't scrap the ultra-lights. Cane poles would work if you don't have anything else, but the new graphite poles are a lot more sensitive.

Post Thanks / Like

People use the long poles to get the lures or bait out away from the boat as they are trolling. I fish out of a canoe, so ultralights are what I use. I also just enjoy using ultralights more than anything else. I get a much better fight out of a fish that already doesn't fight too hard. But when I move up in the world and get a larger boat, I may try the longer poles for trolling.

Post Thanks / Like

Default 67

I have only been useing long poles for about 6 years now. For the type of fishing that I do and, I don't even troll. It would be hard for me to go back to a short pole. I still use them though certain times of the year or when conditions leave me not much of a choice ''WIND''. I keep 2 UL rods in my boat at all times a 5'6'' and a 6' I would for sure hang on to them. As olelucky stated they make some super sensitive long poles nowadays. Depends how you like to fish really. If your in the market for a long pole BnM or Wally Marshall would be a good place to start
    I'm sick of following my dreams. I'm just going to ask them where they're goin' and hook up with them later.

Post Thanks / Like