Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0

Thread: How would you fish this?

Ranger690 is offline Crappie.com Legend and 2021 Crappie.com Man of the Year
    Post Thanks / Like

Default How would you fish this?

How would you fish this? I am new to crappie fishing so I am interested even in the basic stuff.

Here on the James river is a electrical power plant. Its cooling water is discharged in the back of a canal, about ¼ mile long, that leads to the main river. Right now the main river temp is about 45-47°. The canal water runs about 58-63°. From the discharge to about half way out, one bank is almost completely covered with fallen trees laying half way in the water. Canal averages about 50 yards wide, at least half of which is flat/mud. The laydowns are on the deep side, average 9-10’. The tide rises and falls as normal. Fair current on outgoing, light current on incoming. There is so much wood it is overwhelming to me. I don’t even know where or how to start.

Trolling motor along pitching minnow/corks to wood edges? Pitching into cover? If so, how do I not spend 95% of time hung up? Jigs? Drift with multiple rods out, trying to find fish off of the wood? I just don’t know.

The James holds some nice crappie. I would think they would stay in this warm canal/creek. There is lots of shad (large gizzards) there most of the time. This is where all the catfishermen get their daily bait.

Right next to this canal is a old “pit” (large bay) that is littered with old, abandoned decaying barges. That is a whole nother story. So much wood and metal it makes you head spin.

Where do I start?

Thanks,

Dayton

fiddlefarter is offline Moderator Crappie Cover Forum * Crappie.com Supporter
    Mt. Juliet, TN...Percy Priest Lake/Old Hickory Lake
    Post Thanks / Like