Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: White versus Black Crappie on Crankbaits

Post Thanks / Like

Default White versus Black Crappie on Crankbaits

I notice a lot more white crappie than black crappie being caught on crankbaits. Do the rest of you see the same thing and if so what is the reason behind it? It seems to me that whites like the bigger faster baits and the blacks like the smaller slower baits. I'd love to hear some opinions on this.
    A&R JIGS - PRO STAFF
    LIGHTWIRE HOOKS - PRO STAFF

Post Thanks / Like

I would have to factor in that in an informal pole I ran here 66% of those who responded catch more white crappie than blacks. This is my first year pulling crank baits and my lake only has black crappie and I'm off to a rather slow start so perhaps there is something to it. However I sure hope not, otherwise I have sunk a bunch of money into some useless crank baits. (60 of them)

2010 NWR Bash Crappie Division Champion

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by TapOut64
    I would have to factor in that in an informal pole I ran here 66% of those who responded catch more white crappie than blacks. This is my first year pulling crank baits and my lake only has black crappie and I'm off to a rather slow start so perhaps there is something to it. However I sure hope not, otherwise I have sunk a bunch of money into some useless crank baits. (60 of them)
    The crank baits are still not useless if you don't catch crappie on them as long as they are the floating kind. If you ever find yourself in a boat that is sinking, just grab the box all of your crank baits are in. You should be able to use it as floatation in addition to your PFD.:p
    Keith
    2008 NWR Bash Crappie Champion
    2010 NWR Bash Yellow Perch Champion
    2010 Buggs Bash Smallest Crappie Award

Speck is offline MO/MS Moderator and Fishing Legend * Member Sponsor
    Post Thanks / Like