Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0

Thread: Fall planning...

Post Thanks / Like

Default Fall planning...

Since I am fairly new to this crappie fishing, I don't understand patterns as well as I should. I am wanting to take a fall trip, but don't know the fish movement in the fall. Do they come back shallow? Do they go on a feeding frenzy, fattening up for winter? What is the best time/month/temp to catch them?

Just some thoughts of mine that need a little help...

David Waters is offline Moderator Shoals Area Crappie Association Forum * Crappie.com Supporter
    Post Thanks / Like

well, to be honest, the more I fish for crappie, the more I realize they really don't change that much. Well, they don't move around that much, that is. Where ever you find the crappie in deep water, they will move to shallower water during spawn and back out to the deeper water. In the fall, depending on where you frish, teh fish should be around 15 foot flats. They will be chasing schools of shad in the fall. I would suggest Tennessee, Alabam, Miss. or Georgia. The best suggesstion I could give is find a guide in the area where you plan to visit. Maybe even go to Weiss Lake. Pull your baot and get the guide to take you fishing the first day, then spend the remainder of the time fishing out of your baot using the same techniques the guide showed you.
    Last edited by David Waters; 07-09-2007 at 01:20 PM.
    Shoals Area Crappie Association

Post Thanks / Like