Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0

Thread: First day on new lake

Post Thanks / Like

Default First day on new lake

I recently moved to Roanoke, VA and finally got out to try the new lake. Smith Mountain Lake, Thanks to all for the tips and info. I started shooting docks around 8 and fished till all the waterbugs (jet skis and skiers) got out there at about 11. This was my first attempt at shooting docks and I think I am going to like it. I ended up with 25 keepers (although today was C&R) in the three hours. Biggest one was 14" Blacknose but most were 9-11" I am giong to try to attach pic but only had cell phone camera. Best thing is I only drew blood twice.

All you dock shooters out there what type of jigs are you using. I was using regular tubes and the bodies were tearing up, some due to fish and some due to me bouncing them off the docks.

Thanks,
    Beev
    Attached Images Attached Images  
    2008 Buggs Bash Champ! SML Dock Shooting King!

Post Thanks / Like

Sounds like you had a good day!

CrappiePappy is offline Super Moderator - 2013 Man Of The Year * Crappie.com Supporter
    Post Thanks / Like

Talking Don't ya just love it

Quote Originally Posted by wvspec
    I recently moved to Roanoke, VA and finally got out to try the new lake. Smith Mountain Lake, Thanks to all for the tips and info. I started shooting docks around 8 and fished till all the waterbugs (jet skis and skiers) got out there at about 11. This was my first attempt at shooting docks and I think I am going to like it. I ended up with 25 keepers (although today was C&R) in the three hours. Biggest one was 14" Blacknose but most were 9-11" I am giong to try to attach pic but only had cell phone camera. Best thing is I only drew blood twice.
    All you dock shooters out there what type of jigs are you using. I was using regular tubes and the bodies were tearing up, some due to fish and some due to me bouncing them off the docks.
    Thanks,
    Beev