Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Cast Iron or Stainless Cooker

Post Thanks / Like

Default Cast Iron or Stainless Cooker

Thinking about buying a new fish cooker, need experience from all you crappie chefs. How do you maintain a cast iron dutch oven far as cleaning, storing, seasoning and such, or should I go with stainless steel cooker. Will stainless steel do as good of job as the cast iron with less hassle? Not much said about stainless steel cookers here in the past. Please compare the two.
    Last edited by Countrytime; 06-27-2007 at 07:12 AM.

Post Thanks / Like

I have never used stainless before. I know some caterers that do. But, I have never thought to ask them of any advantages. I use a cast iron dutch oven. A new one should be seasoned by heating grease inside of it. If you are single you can use your oven but any woman is not going to understand or appreciate smelling up her house. I used my grill on the last one. Just wipe some grease inside and bake it. After I have cooked fish in it, I simply hose it off/out then let it dry. Do not use detergent or you will be cleaning out rust and re-seasoning. I store mine sealed up in a trash bag. Oh BTW....if I am camping or cooking out on the bank and no hose is handy, I just walk out into the lake with it and wipe it out real good.
    DP
    I am a heterosexual male. 2 Chronicles 7:14
    "If my people who are called by My name will humble themselves and pray and seek My face and turn from their wicked ways, then I will hear from Heaven and will forgive their sin and heal their land."

Post Thanks / Like

I've got the "el-cheapo" aluminum deep fryer that comes with the least expensive propane cooker from BPS - it cleans up fine, heats quickly and evenly and gives me no problems at all. The cooker base can be set up for either a fish fryer or a turkey fryer, so this fall, I'm getting a turkey fryer kit for it.

Post Thanks / Like

cast iron will hole heat better