PDA

View Full Version : How Close Does Your GPS Get You?



BigD
06-17-2007, 03:50 PM
Just wondering how close you can get back to a spot by using your GPS? Within how many feet? Is your GPS 'Hand Held' or 'Fixed' to the boat?


D

randybenham
06-17-2007, 04:27 PM
I use a lowrance h2oc, & I'm very pleased with it. I have a ram mount that I attach to the boat, to make my handheld sort of "pseudo-fixed". That thing is dead on. once you have a waypoint marked, it is right on it.

Gamblinman
06-17-2007, 04:54 PM
The Garmin unit in my truck regularly has a position error less than 10'.

My Lowrance unit consistently has a position error of 7'.

SteveJ
06-17-2007, 06:12 PM
While on this subject my GPS 72 has something called average location and if I read this correctly it will take a location reading about every second and average them out, don't know how many. It will stabilize the estimated accuracy and then you hit enter and it will be saved as that location. Seems like that would make it more accurate, is that right? Don't know in feet how accurate mine is but I can get on my spots with-in a few minutes with the troll motor. The only thing about it is the pointer will not point correctly unless you have a little speed but the distance to will count down if you are headed in the right direction, I use the pointer page.

Barnacle Bill
06-17-2007, 07:58 PM
I have a hand held and mounted Lowrance. They both put me right on. I think a common mistake is people do not mark their waypoints correctly. As soon as you see a brush pile on the right side of your screen, you are over it. The longer you wait to mark it, the further off you will be. Especially if you are going any speed.

Darryl Morris
06-17-2007, 08:37 PM
Garmin Map Marine GPS76 handheld. With the WAAS enabled it puts me right on the money every time. With the screen zoomed in to 30' when the cursor is over my waypoint I can see the brush on my sonar unit. If you click on the informative articles link in my sig below there is an article I wrote "How to use your GPS." It may help some that are trying to make it more difficult than it is especially if your trying to use the "go to" function which is not needed.

crappiechaser2
06-17-2007, 08:41 PM
I have a Lowrance h20c and when I turn on waas enable, I loose my signal every time. Does anyone else have that problem?

skiptomylu
06-17-2007, 10:14 PM
Have not tried to measure it, but using my Lowrance LCX 27C (WAAS) I was trying to find a underwater stump that is about 6" Dia. and I looked at my screen and it looked like I was very close and it should be some where on the Left side of my boat and so I walked over to that side and there it was about 3'-4' away from my boat.

I would say it's very close to on spot. I think the 7" screen helps too along with the good pixel count.

Skip

PieEye
06-17-2007, 10:49 PM
LMS 480.... 3ft

Barnacle Bill
06-18-2007, 06:16 AM
I have a Lowrance h20c and when I turn on waas enable, I loose my signal every time. Does anyone else have that problem?

The RAA-3 external antenna helps a whole lot. http://www.lei-extras.com/store/search.asp?SearchType=Category&Category=Hand+Held+Accessory

BigD
06-18-2007, 08:50 AM
Wow! Thanks for all the advice and info.

So if I understand most of you correctly I would assume;

1) You can get within 3' of a mark with the right equipment, with the average around 7'.
2) as Darryl said, with the right practice and approach getting close is more about practicing navigation techniques.

So with that said, if money was no object, what would you purchase for a new GPS system?

Your advice will make a difference,

D

ShilohRed
06-18-2007, 09:30 AM
I have a hand held and mounted Lowrance. They both put me right on. I think a common mistake is people do not mark their waypoints correctly. As soon as you see a brush pile on the right side of your screen, you are over it. The longer you wait to mark it, the further off you will be. Especially if you are going any speed.

That is the reason I love the GPS on the humminbird 987c-SI. I can see a brushpile say 100 ft out to the left of the boat and I have passed it by 60ft. I can freeze the screen and mark that brush pile. Then go straight to it. Its dead on when doing it this way.
Also if theres 8 or 10 stake beds on a hump. I can mark each one of them. And then go fish each one of them.
Pete

NIMROD
06-18-2007, 10:13 AM
I use a simple hand held Garmin Etrax . It will get you right on a brushplile or stakebed most of the time. But every once in a while the thing goes crazy. It will not settle on a spot and it's normally the same areas. Cell phone service is also dead in spots at Nimrod. I've heard that sun spots may cause interference with GPS. I been wondering if maybe natural magnatism in the area may interfere on Nimrod ? I know if I use it too close to my battery storage it messes up.:confused:

DRPEPPER
06-18-2007, 11:18 AM
I am fairly new to using a GPS; less than a year. I have a Garmin map 76. I can share something I have learned though....

After finding my brush with my GPS and seeing it on the sonar, I have been marking my spots with one of those orange bouys that sort of flop when the weight decends. I have found out that the weight decends too slow and if there is any wind or current, it will not be on my spot when it stops. I added 1 ounce and helped my cause some.
DP

crappie&shrooms
06-18-2007, 11:39 AM
I have one of the older hand held Magellan Sport Trak Pro's with the Mapsend topo software. Must say it works EXTREMELY WELL on the water. I too have one of the hydrograph(sp) maps and can view the maps on my computer, find drop offs, creeks or whatever, place waypoints on them, them download the waypoints to my GPS. Also can load waypoint from my GPS to the hydro maps on my computer. On the water my hand held seems to be right on to maybe 10ft off at the most. It really seems to be right on most of the time. I can only zoom down to a 100ft scale so I think the ones that zoom it to 30 ft or so would have a big advantage.
It is not as accurate in the woods as I use it to mark mushroom locations some times. It takes it longer to figure out where it is. I am sure the trees block a lot of signals. That and the fact that I am not movin fast enough doesn't help either.

Glowgood Jigster
06-19-2007, 05:56 AM
We use Garmin Rino's and a Garmin Map 60CSx, and use them mostly for geocaching. www.geocaching.com Normally we can get within a couple feet of a cache if it's out in the open without trees or close hills. With the new Map 60, it's much better in the trees, as the signal locks in better. These things are just getting better as the time goes on. But I think the Garmin Map 60 CSx is the best for all terrian pinpointing. Well worth the money.

BigD
06-20-2007, 12:31 PM
We use Garmin Rino's and a Garmin Map 60CSx, and use them mostly for geocaching. www.geocaching.com Normally we can get within a couple feet of a cache if it's out in the open without trees or close hills. With the new Map 60, it's much better in the trees, as the signal locks in better. These things are just getting better as the time goes on. But I think the Garmin Map 60 CSx is the best for all terrian pinpointing. Well worth the money.

A couple of feet is great. So on open water it is real accurate.


D