Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0

Thread: Need striper help. . . .

Post Thanks / Like

Red face Need striper help. . . .

Hey folks! I need some of yalls info, if ya could help me out. Im gonna try to go catch me a few stripers the end of this month, and Im clueless as to where to start. Yes ive caught a few, but ive never went out strictly striper fishing. Ill be fishing lake juliette here in Georgia (extrememly clear). I know June isnt the best time for them, but I gotta start somewhere. Any suggestions on wether I should troll, drift or whatever? also , what size hooks should I be using? I will try to catch some shad out there, but if it goes as I expect, Ill probably fishing with bream. Once again, I know thats not the best, but Im new at this. ANY info would be much appreciated. Thanks!

Post Thanks / Like

BTW, Im not giving up on crappie, so easy on the bashing:D . Just going to a place thats new to me (somewhat), so why not try something different. :p

Post Thanks / Like

Default bit of help

what you need to do is to get you some live skipjack 3"-8" and do the normal live bait rig. i have found this bait of choice to be the best. Although i have caught more during the the spawn off of the guts and chunks...the bigger have been caught off live bait always. now as where to fish, that would not be of much help from me at this moment but you can seach a bit on the web as to where to find striper at this time of year also around the area you live or the actual lake. that might be better. hope that helps
    brushpiles and logs, one rod, one bobber, it's jig poppin time:D

Post Thanks / Like

Thanks, Slab. You know the best place to find those skipjack? I was planning on trying to catch some shad when I get to the lake, but Id love to have something to carry with me.

Post Thanks / Like

Default Loc.