Likes Likes:  0
Thanks Thanks:  0
HaHa HaHa:  0

Thread: Crappie Rookie

Post Thanks / Like

Default Crappie Rookie

Hi guys,

I'm relatively new to crappie fishing (in Iowa) and have been struggling a bit this spring. I've noticed lots of interest in helping out rookies here on this board, so I thought I'd offer up a real world fishing example I encountered this weekend.

Water temp is about 75. There are no fish in the shallows. On my finder I see lots of fish relating to what looks like a big shadowy glob of something (baitfish maybe, I dunno). This occurs in 18-20 FOW. The fish are anywhere from 8-11 feet deep.

What would be the best way to fish this situation. (I slow trolled over these depths with a slip bobber rig and minnow-tipped jig, but only managed a single 7" crappie. )

Any help appreciated.

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by Fortunato
    Hi guys,

I'm relatively new to crappie fishing (in Iowa) and have been struggling a bit this spring. I've noticed lots of interest in helping out rookies here on this board, so I thought I'd offer up a real world fishing example I encountered this weekend.

Water temp is about 75. There are no fish in the shallows. On my finder I see lots of fish relating to what looks like a big shadowy glob of something (baitfish maybe, I dunno). This occurs in 18-20 FOW. The fish are anywhere from 8-11 feet deep.

What would be the best way to fish this situation. (I slow trolled over these depths with a slip bobber rig and minnow-tipped jig, but only managed a single 7" crappie. )

Any help appreciated.
    I troll a lot in the spring, but hardly ever use a bobber at all. Check out my site and the How To Page about trolling jigs and maybe it will help. It is not an end all for sure and there is a lot of good reading on this site in the Articles. Here is a link to my How To Page.....

http://thumpitjigs.com/HowTo.html

And a link to Articles on this site....

http://www.crappie.com/tips.html

Hope this helps,

Skip